Registrar Travel Form Instructions


Name of the County at the top of the form
Name of Registrar (please print)
Home address of Registrar
Your Home Base/Official Co Courthouse (the City where the official Courthouse is located)
Mark if you were the driver or passenger in the vehicle

Departure from Base:

     Month and date
     Enter point of Departure and Destination (this should be the name of the city in both)
     Number of miles traveled
     Enter the time of departure from your base
     Enter amount of per diem if applicable
  
Upon Return to base:

     Month and date
     Enter point of Departure and Destination (this should be the name of the city in both)
     Number of miles traveled
     Enter the time that you return to your base
     Enter amount of per diem if applicable

If this travel requires you to stay multiple days, each day of your stay should be listed on your travel claim.  For a day where no mileage is claimed you should list the month/date and enter the city name in both the “point of departure” and “place of destination”, and any per diem on the travel form.  See example:

	             Month
	POINTS OF TRAVEL
	Private Car     Miles
	Hour of Departure     from Base
	Hour of Return             to Base
	Amount   Per Diem Claimed

	And           Date
	From Point of 
Departure
	  To Place of 
  Destination
	
	AM
	PM
	AM
	PM
	

	06/01/2019 
	Montgomery 
	Birmingham
	85
	8:00
	 
	 
	 
	100.00

	06/02/2019
	Birmingham
	Birmingham
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	100.00

	06/03/2019
	Birmingham
	Montgomery
	85
	 
	 
	 
	5:30
	100.00

	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 

	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 

	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 


								Total Per Diem           	                 $ 300.00


The travel form must be signed by the Board of Registrar member.  It is desirable that travel claims are submitted as soon after the travel occurred as possible.  Within a 2-4-week period is reasonable.  If the signature is not legible, the traveler must print their name below the signature. The hour of departure from your base and the hour of return to base should be shown on the travel expense form.  The traveler is ONLY entitled to per diem if they are away from base for six hours or more.  These times should be notated in the standard time format, not military time. For travel related expenses, your base is defined as a city or town. 
a. Per Diem Allowance 

Alabama law gives authority to the Governor to fix the amount allowable to a person traveling in-state in service of the state at not less than $75 per day. Code of Alabama § 36-7-20(a). 

The current allowance for overnight per diem is $85.00 or $100.00 per day, depending on the length of the trip. For travel requiring one overnight stay, the traveler will be paid $85.00 per day. For travel requiring stays of two or more nights, the traveler will be paid $100.00 per day.
 
The term overnight, as used in Code of Alabama § 36-7-20, as amended, will be given its plain meaning. The common law meaning of night usually means the period between sunset and sunrise. “Overnight” means that a period of rest is needed to meet the demands of work while away from home. Employees within reasonable travel distance from their home or base are expected to return to their home or base. For travel related expenses, your base is defined as a city or town.

Under no circumstances will an employee be paid an overnight travel allowance at the official station or base or primary residence. For travel related expenses, your base is defined as a city or town. If state business requires the traveler to be away from the base or official station on weekends or holidays, the traveler will be entitled to reimbursement for travel for those days. 

If the individual's travel is interrupted for personal convenience or through the taking of leave, the travel allowance may not exceed the costs that would have been incurred for authorized uninterrupted travel. This has been interpreted by the Attorney General as applying to mileage and per diem. AG Opinion 89-00371. The mileage claimed can only be the amount claimed had the traveler left and returned to their base. 

No travel allowance shall be paid for a trip of less than six hours’ duration. For travel that does not require an overnight stay, the traveler shall be paid a meal allowance of $12.75 (15% of the regular per diem rate of $85.00) for a trip of six to twelve hours' duration. For travel in excess of twelve hours' duration, the traveler shall be paid $34.00, which represents one meal allowance and one-fourth of the per diem allowance. 

No meal allowance will be paid if the traveler remains in the city where his/her home or base is located. For travel related expenses, your base is defined as a city or town. 

If a meal is provided, the traveler may not claim a meal allowance. AG Opinion 88-00340. 

b. Reimbursement for Mileage Expenses 

Effective January 1, 2021, persons traveling on official business for the state or any of its departments, institutions, boards, bureaus, commissions, councils, committees, or other like agencies in privately owned vehicles shall receive $.56 per mile in lieu of their actual expenses for transportation. Officers and employees of the state are entitled to mileage allowance from their base to destination and return or for miles actually traveled from home to destination and return, whichever is less. For travel related expenses, your base is defined as a city or town. 

Mileage is to be reported in whole miles, rounded to the nearest whole number. To calculate the amount to be reimbursed, all mileage listed on the travel form must be totaled and then multiplied by the applicable rate. The reimbursement rate for mileage expenses is equal to the mileage rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Code for income tax deductions. 

c. Required Receipts 

Receipts and/or proof of payment are required to support the following expenses, except when the disclosure of the identity of the traveler would be detrimental to the State's interest: 

Registration fees - include itemized breakdown, if applicable. 

Travel related fees such as parking, toll and/or taxi fees with notation of “to” and “from”. 

Miscellaneous expenses. Receipts must be itemized and conform to the requirements of Purchasing (Section 6-5, B)



For the complete set of travel policies, please go to www.comptroller.alabama.gov, choose “procedures”, Fiscal Policy & Procedures”, Fiscal Policy and Procedures with bookmarks” and look in Chapter 6.  All travel rules and laws are in this section and apply to anyone that travels in the service of the state.

