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MEMORANDUM 

TO:  All Chief Fiscal Officers 

  All Payroll and Personnel Officers 
 

FROM: Kathleen Baxter 
  State Comptroller 
 

DATE: October 8, 2020 
 

SUBJECT: Taxation and Reporting Personal Use of State Owned/Leased Vehicles 
 
In accordance with IRS regulations, the total value of the personal use of state owned/leased vehicles 

is taxable for federal, state, and FICA purposes and must be reported on the employee’s Form W-2. 
Since the State of Alabama has a written policy prohibiting any personal use of an employer-provided 

vehicle other than for commuting purposes (Section 36-25-5, 1975 Code of Alabama), the State elects 
the commuting valuation rule of $3.00 per day for employees who earn less than $160,100 annually 
and are not elected officials. Employees who are paid $160,100 or more annually, or are elected 

officials, are considered “control employees”. The only options available to control employees are (1) 
the lease value rule or (2) the vehicle cents-per mile valuation rule. In accordance with IRS, the cents-

per-mile valuation method is applicable for employer provided vehicles first made available for use in 
the calendar year 2020 with a maximum value of $50,400 for passenger automobiles and $50,400 for 
trucks or vans (Refer to IRS publication 15b for 2019 values). 

 
FICA and Medicare tax must be computed on the value of this personal use, matched, and paid by the 

department. This will require the Comptroller to calculate and collect the required FICA and Medicare 
tax due on the affected employees’ payroll checks before issuing a Form W-2 to employees. It is 
mandatory that employees be notified within 30 days after being provided a vehicle of the effect this 

benefit may have on withholdings. The employee’s share of FICA and Medicare will be withheld from 
the employee’s payroll check. The State’s share of FICA and Medicare tax will be charged to the 

payroll fund(s) designated in GHRS for the employee. The charge will be reflected on the department’s 
fringe benefit payroll journal voucher. Departments will receive detail listings supporting this charge 
in December 2020. 

 
The data required to accurately report and compute taxes due on this fringe benefit must be provided 

by all State departments no later than November 13, 2020. The $3 per day charge for commuting 
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use of State owned/leased vehicles is reported for the period  November 1, 2019 - October 31, 2020. 

The State of Alabama selected the IRS option to cut off calculation for taxable fringe benefits on 
October 31 of any tax year. The data required for that period for each employee is the total number of 

days the vehicle was used for commuting purposes. 
 
For control employees who are required to use the lease value rule, information can be found on the 

IRS website at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15b.pdf. For control employees who opt to use the 
vehicle cents-per-mile method, please use the Cents-Per-Mile computation worksheet FRMS-16CPM 

“Control Employees 2020”. Please use the Excel workbook FRMS-16 for employees using the $3.00 
per day commuting valuation rule. The FRMS-16 “Commuting Use of State Owned/Leased Vehicles” 
form will do the computations for you and is in the exact format required by this office for non-control 

employees. The Excel version of both worksheets can be found on our website at 
www.comptroller.alabama.gov under “Reports and Forms, Online Forms”. The forms may also be 

printed and filled out manually. The FRMS-16 workbook is set up with 6 pages/tabs to accommodate 
the listing of up to 294 employees. Only the page(s) with data should be sent to GHRS. Be sure to 
include a contact name and phone number for your department on the first page as well as the 

department head signature. If you have employees that are not paid by your agency but are paid 

by another agency, you will need to coordinate with the paying agency to make sure the 

commuting use is reported by the paying agency. 
 

It is imperative that the information reported is accurate. Ensure that all vehicles used for commuting 

are reported except those specifically exempted by IRS. Vehicles, either marked or unmarked, that are 
used for law enforcement functions are exempt from reporting. If your department owns no State 

vehicles or no commuting occurs, return the form marked "NO VEHICLES".  
 

The personal use of employer-provided aircraft is also taxable for federal, state, and FICA purposes 

and must be reported on Form W-2. Specific valuation rules in assessing the personal use of a flight 
on an employer-provided aircraft must be used in determining this taxable value. If your department 

has an employee who has used an employer-provided aircraft for personal reasons, contact this office 
for the valuation rules and additional instructions.  

 

In addition to the data required for the period ending October 31, 2020, those employees who drive 
state owned vehicles and terminate State service between November 1, 2019 and October 31, 2020, 

must submit interim data from November 1, 2019, through the termination date immediately upon 
notice of termination and prior to the issuance of their last payroll warrant.  

 

It is imperative that all departments return this form by November 13, 2020. Failure to return 

this form may result in a delay of processing payroll data and the issuance of Form W-2's for 

your department.  

 
For questions, please contact the GHRS hotline at (334) 242-2188. 

 
KDB/ds 
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