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M E M O R A N D U M  

 
TO:  CHIEF FISCAL OFFICERS  
 
FROM:  Robert L. Childree  

State Comptroller  
 

SUBJECT:  Taxation and Reporting of Personal Use of State Owned/Leased Vehicles  
 
 
In accordance with the IRS regulations, the total value of the personal use of state 

owned/leased vehicles must be accumulated and reported for W-2 purposes. Since the State of Alabama 
has a written policy prohibiting any personal use of an employer-provided vehicle other than for 
commuting purposes (Section 41-17-9, 1975 Code of Alabama), the State elects the commuting valuation 
rule of $3.00 per day for employees who earn less than $139,600 annually and are not elected officials. 
Employees who are paid $139,600 or more annually or are elected officials are considered “control 
employees”. The only options available to control employees are (1) the annual lease value rule and (2) 
the vehicle cents-per mile valuation rule (48.5 cents per mile for November 1, 2007 to December 31, 
2007; 50.5 cents for January 1, 2008 to June 30, 2008 and 58.5 cents for July 1, 2008 to October 31 
2008). If your department has control employees, contact this office for further information. No federal 
income tax withholding is required, but FICA and Medicare tax must be computed on the value of this 
personal use, matched, and paid by the department. This will require that the Comptroller calculate the 
FICA and Medicare tax due and shift the required amount from the employee’s Federal Withholding to 
FICA and Medicare tax before issuing a Form W-2 to the affected employees. It is mandatory that 
employees be notified within 30 days after being provided a vehicle of the effect this benefit may have on 
withholdings and be allowed to increase regular withholdings to offset any anticipated shortage. 
Simultaneously, the Comptroller must charge each CAS fund, agency and appropriation unit with the 
State’s matching portion. Departments will receive detail listings supporting this charge in CAS in 
January, 2009. Corresponding entries must be manually entered in AFNS or non-AFNS agency 
accounting systems.  

The data required to accurately report and compute the taxes due on this fringe benefit 
must be provided by all State departments no later than December 1, 2008. Unlike the taxable status of 
meal allowances and per diem for non-overnight trips which cover the calendar year January 1, 2008- 
December 31, 2008, the $3/day charge for commuting use of State owned/leased vehicles is reported for 
the period November 1, 2007 - October 31, 2008. The State of Alabama selected the IRS option to cut off 
calculation for taxable fringe benefits on October 31 of any tax year. The data required for that period for 
each employee is the total number of days or total number of miles the vehicle was used for commuting 



purposes. Please use the attached form which details exactly the format required by this office for non-
control employees. There is also a fillable word version on our website at www.comptroller.alabama.gov. 
Click on Online Forms on the left side of the webpage. Use as many sheets as needed but insure that a 
separate sheet is used for each CAS fund, agency and appropriation unit combination. List as many 
employees on a sheet as possible and subtotal each sheet. The grand total for your department must be 
shown on the last page.  

It is imperative that the information reported is 100% accurate. Insure that all vehicles 
used for commuting are reported except those specifically exempted by IRS. Vehicles, either marked or 
unmarked, that are used for law enforcement functions are exempt from reporting. If your department 
owns no State vehicles or no commuting occurs, return the form marked "No Vehicles". If your 
department has anyone that drives a state vehicle but is not paid by the State of Alabama on a payroll 
warrant, contact this office for special instructions.  

The personal use of employer-provided aircraft is also taxable for federal, state, and 
FICA purposes and must be reported for W-2 purposes. Specific valuation rules in assessing the personal 
use of a flight on an employer-provided aircraft must be used in determining this taxable value. If your 
department has an employee who has used an employer-provided aircraft for personal reasons, contact 
this office for the valuation rules and additional instructions.  

In addition to the data required for the period ending October 31, 2008, those employees 
who terminate between November 1, 2008 and October 31, 2009 must submit interim data for November 
1, 2008 through the termination date immediately upon notice of termination and prior to the issuance of 
their last payroll warrant.  

For control purposes, please designate one employee in your department as the contact 
person to aid us in problem resolution and be sure to include their telephone number on the form in the 
space provided. This employee should also be responsible for submitting your departmental information 
to this office. Unless special arrangements have been made with this office, all lists for your department 
must be submitted simultaneously.  

It is imperative that all departments return this form by December 1, 2008. Failure 
to return this form may result in a delay of processing payroll data and the issuance of Form W-2's 
for your department. 

Should you have questions or need further instructions, please contact Lisa Chadwick at 
(334) 242-2177. 
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STATE OF ALABAMA 

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE 
COMMUTING USE OF STATE OWNED/LEASED VEHICLES 

(This is a fillable form. Just use tab to move from field to field and enter the required information.  
Use file; “save as” to save a copy to your computer.) 

 
 

1. List all employees with the same CAS Fund, Agency, and Appropriation Unit on the same 
page(s). 

NOTE: NAMES MUST BE THE SAME AS IN GHRS. 
 

2. Accounting distribution must be completed in order to charge the employer's share of FICA and 
Medicare correctly. 

NOTE: ALL CODES MUST BE CAS CODES. 
 

3. Total value should be reflected in dollars and cents ($90.00). 
 
4. Subtotal each page with a grand total for the department on the last page. 
 
5. Enter the name and telephone number of the department contact person on the first page for the 

agency as indicated. 
 

CAS DEPARTMENT NAME:        
 

              0200-01 
CAS Fund CAS Agency   CAS Appropriation Unit  CAS Object Code 
 

 
CAS 
ACTV 

CAS 
ORG 

EMPLOYEE 
ID NUMBER GHRS NAME #  DAYS X $3 $ VALUE 

 1.                           X $3 $         

 2.                           X $3 $         

 3.                           X $3 $         

 4.                           X $3 $         

 5.                           X $3 $         

 6.                           X $3 $         

 7.                           X $3 $         

 8.                           X $3 $         

 9.                           X $3 $         

10.                           X $3 $         
 

   
CONTACT PERSON:      
 
PHONE #:       

 
 
I hereby certify that the above information is correct and reflects the total personal 
usage of State owned/leased vehicles assigned to my department. 
 

 
 

(Department Head Signature) 

Sub Total this page $         

Grand Total All Pages $         
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