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MEMORANDUM

TO: CHIEF FISCAYL OFFICERS
FROM: Robert L. Childree %

State Comptroller /</ c
SUBJECT: Taxation and Reporting of Personal Use of

State Owned/Leased Vehicles

In accordance with the IRS regulations, the total value of the personal use of state owned/leased
vehicles must be accumulated and reported for W-2 purposes. Since the State of Alabama has a written policy
‘prohibiting any personal use of an employer-provided vehicle other than for commuting purposes (Section 41-17-9,
1975 Code of Alabama), the State elects the commuting valuation rule of $3.00 per day for employees who carn less
than $133,900 annually and are not elected officials. Employees who are paid $133,900 or more annually or are
elected officials are considered “control employees”. The only options available to control employees are (1) the
annual lease value rule and (2) the vehicle cents-per mile Valuation rule (44.5 cents per mile for 2006; 48.5 cents for

November 1, 2005 to Decembm 31, 2005). If your department has control employees, contact th1 office for further
information.

No federal income tax withholding is required, but FICA and Medicare tax must be computed on
the value of this personal use, matched, and paid by the department. This will require that the Comptroller calculate
the FICA and Medicare tax due and shift the required amount from the employee’s Federal Withholding to FICA
and Medicare tax before issuing a Form W-2 to the affected employees. It is handatory that employees be notified
within 30 days after being provided a vehicle of the effect this benefit may have on withholdings and be allowed to
increase regular withholdings to offset any anticipated shortage. Simultaneously, the Comptroller must charge each

CAS fund, agency and appropriation unit with the State’s matching portion. Departments will receive detail listings
supporting this charge in January, 2007.

The data required to accurately report and compute the taxes due on this fringe benefit must be
provided by all State departments no later than December 1, 2006. Unlike the taxable status of meal allowances
and per diem for non-overnight trips which cover the calendar year January 1, 2006- December 31, 2006, the $3/day
charge for commuting use of State owned/leased vehicles is reported for the period November 1, 2005 - October 31,

2006. The State of Alabama selected the IRS option to cut off calculation for taxable fringe benefits on October 31
of any tax year. The data required for that period for each employee is the total number of days the vehicle was used
for commuting purposes. Please use the attached form which details exactly the format required by this office.
Make as many copies as needed but insure that a separate sheet is used for each CAS fund, agency and appropriation

unit combination. List as many employees on a s:cet as possible and subtotal each sheet. The grand total for your
department must be shown on the last page.




It is imperative that the information reported is 100% accurate. Be certain that all vehicles used
for commuting are reported except those specifically exempted by IRS. Vehicles, either marked or unmarked, that
are used for law enforcement functions are exempt from reporting. If your department owns no State vehicles or
no commuting occurs, respond with the form marked "™o Vehicles™. If your department has anyone that drives
a state vehicle but is not paid by the State of Alubama on a salary watrant, contact this office for special instructions.

The personal use of employer-provided aircraft is also taxable for federal, state, and FICA
purposes and must be reported fot W-2 purposes. Specific valuation rulés in assessing the personal use of a flight on
an employer-provided aircraft must be used in determining this taxable value. If your department has an employee

who has used an employer-provided aircraft for personal reasons, contact this office for the valuation rules and
additional instructions.

In addition to the data required for the period ending October 31, 2006, those employees who
terminate between November 1, 2006 and October 31, 2007 must submit interim data for November 1, 2006 through
the termination date immediately upon notice of termination and prior to the issuance of the last pay warrant.

For control purposes, please designate one employee in your department as the contact person to
aid us in problem resolution. This employee should also be responsible for submitting your departmental

information to this office. Unless special arrangements have been made with this office, all lists for your department
must be submitted simultaneously.

The Department Head is responsible for the accuracy and timely reporting of this data. It is
imperative that all departments return this form by December 1, 2006, Failure to return

this form miay result in a delay of nrocessing pavroll data and the issuance of Form W-2's
for vour department.

Should you have questions or need further instructions, please contact Gretchen Owens at (334)
353-1915.

RLC/sh



COMMUTING USE OF STATE OWNED/LEASED VEHICLES

1) List all employees with the same CAS Fund, Agency and Appropriation Unit on the same
page(s). NOTE: NAMES MUST BE THE SAME AS GHRES. ’
2) All account coding must be completed to charge the employer’s share of FICA and Medicare
correctly. NOTE: ALL CODES MUST BE CAS CODES.
—— — — o T3y Totalvalug should be reflected in dollars and cents ($90.00). — -
4) Subtotal each page with a grand total for the department on the last page.

5) Enter the name and telephone number of the departmental contact person on the first page for
the agency as indicated.

CAS DEPARTMENT
MNAME

CAS FUND, AGENCY, & APPROPRIATION UNIT

OBJECT CODE 0240 01

#DAYS x
ACTV ORGN S5# NAME $3 VALUE

1.
2.
3.
4,
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.

Subtotal

for page o

GRAND TOTAL

CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE#

1 hereby certify that the above information is correct and reflects the total personal usage of State
owned/leased vehicles assigned to my department.

(Department Head)



