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M E M O R A N D U M 
 
TO:  Fiscal Officers 
 
FROM: Robert L. Childree 
 
SUBJECT: Update to Fiscal Policy & Procedures Manual 
 
Attached hereto is an update to the State of Alabama’s Fiscal Policy & Procedures Manual.  
This update to the manual is provided to keep current the rules and regulations put forth by the 
Department of Finance. 
 
Please distribute this to those individuals in your agency who use the manual.  If you have 
questions or comments, please contact Kathleen Baxter at (334) 242-4857 or 
kathleen.baxter@comptroller.alabama.gov. 
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CHANGES/UPDATES TO THE FISCAL POLICY AND PROCEDURES MANUAL 
 

CHAPTER 6 
SECTION 6-5 PAYMENT TYPES 

SUBSECTION F PAYMENT FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF TRAVEL EXPENSES 
 
1.a.  Per Diem Allowance (second and third paragraph page 6-17) 
 
The guidelines for travel reimbursements are established by state law as follows (Code of Alabama 1975, 
§36-7-20 through 36-7-23, as amended).  
 
The term overnight, as used in Code of Alabama 1975, §36-7-20, as amended, means exactly what the word 
implies.  The common law meaning of night usually means the period between sunset and sunrise.  Another 
rule often applied is that night is defined as beginning thirty minutes after sunset and ending thirty minutes 
before sunrise. To be entitled to overnight per diem, the trip must require a ”rest period.” Individuals who 
remain in work status are not entitled to overnight per diem. Individuals whose work hours are during the 
night period are in work status and are not entitled to overnight per diem.  Employees within reasonable 
travel distance from their base are expected to return to base. Individual circumstance will determine what is 
reasonable but generally, a trip of 100 miles or less one-way does not require an overnight stay.  Once a 
year an exception to the 100-mile rule may be approved by Department Directors for employees attending 
professional meetings.  Exceptions to the policy may be approved by the department director.  The travel 
allowance is set at $50.00 per day for one overnight stay, $66.66 per day for two consecutive overnight 
stays, and $75.00 per day for three or more consecutive overnight stays.  The new rates will be effective 
April 1, 2003.  $75.00 per day effective September 8, 2005.   
 
 
“The amount allowable to a person traveling inside the State of Alabama, in the service of the state of any of 
its departments, institutions, boards, bureaus, commissions, councils, committees, or other like agencies, for 
expenses other than transportation may be fixed by the Governor at not less than $50.00 and not more than 
$75.00 per day.  Such maximum or limit when fixed from time to time shall be uniform in operations as to all 
persons traveling with the state on official business.  The current allowance for overnight per diem is $50.00 
per day for one overnight stay, $66.66 per day for two consecutive overnight stays, and $75.00 per day for 
three or more consecutive overnight stays. $75.00.
 
 



CHANGES/UPDATES TO THE FISCAL POLICY AND PROCEDURES MANUAL 
 

CHAPTER 6 
SECTION 6-5 PAYMENT TYPES 

SUBSECTION  PAYMENT FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF TRAVEL EXPENSES 
 
1.a.  Per Diem Allowance (continuation on page 6-18) 
 
The per diem is not to be paid to an employee stationed at the same place in the State for a period in excess of two 
consecutive months. After two consecutive months, the per diem is reduced to $37.50 $56.25 per day (75% of daily 
rate). The per diem includes all charges for meals, lodging, fees, and tips (Attorney General's Opinion issued September 
8, 1952, vol. 68, p.63). 
 
Under no circumstances will an employee be paid an overnight travel allowance at the official station or base or 
primary residence. If state business requires the traveler to be away from the base or official station on weekends or 
holidays, the traveler will be entitled to reimbursement for travel for those days.  
 
If the individual's travel is interrupted for personal convenience or through the taking of leave, the travel allowance may 
not exceed the costs that would have been incurred for authorized uninterrupted travel. 
 
No travel allowance shall be paid for a trip of less than six hours’ duration. For travel that does not require an overnight 
stay, the traveler shall be paid a meal allowance of $7.50 $11.25 (15% of the regular per diem rate) for a trip of from six 
to twelve hours' duration. For travel in excess of twelve hours' duration the traveler shall be paid $20.00 $30.00, which 
represents one meal allowance and one-fourth of the per diem allowance. 
 
No meal allowance will be paid if the traveler remains in the city where his/her home or base is located. 
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