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RE: Taxation and Reporting of Personal Use of State OwnedILeased Vehicles 

In accordance with IRS regulations, the total value of personal use of state ownedlleased vehicles 
is taxable for federal, state and FICA purposes and must be reported on the employee's Form W- 
2. Since the State of Alabama has a written policy prohibiting any personal use of an employer- 
provided vehicle other than for commuting purposes (Section 41 - 17-9, 1975 Code ofAlabama), 
the State elects the commuting valuation rule of $3.00 per day for employees who earn less than 
$146,400 annually and are not elected officials. Employees who are paid $146,400 or more 
annually or are elected officials are considered "control employees". The only options available 
to control employees are (I) the annual lease value rule and (2) the vehicle cents-per-mile 
valuation rule. 

FICA and Medicare tax must be computed on the value of this personal use, matched and paid by 
the department. This will require the Comptroller to calculate and collect the required FICA and 
Medicare tax due on the affected employee's payroll check in December before issuing a Form 
W-2 to the employees. It is mandatory that employees be notified within 30 days, after being 
provided a vehicle, of the effect this benefit may have on withholdings. The State's share of 
FICA and Medicare tax will be charged to the payroll hnd(s) designated in GHRS for the 
employee. The charge will be reflected on the department's fringe benefit payroll journal 
voucher. Departments will receive detail listings supporting this charge in December 2013. 

The data required to accurately report and compute the taxes due on this fringe benefit must be 
provided by all State departments no later than November 15,2013. Unlike the taxable status 
of meal allowances and per diem for non-overnight trips, which cover the calendar year January 
1,2013 -December 31,2013 the $3.00 per day charge for commuting use of State owned/leased 
vehicles is reported for the period November 1,2012 - October 31,2013. The State of Alabama 
selected the IRS option to cut off calculation for taxable fringe benefits on October 31 of any tax 
year. The data required for that period for each employee is the total number of days or total 
number of miles the vehicle was used for commuting purposes. 
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Please use the Excel workbook FRMS-16 for employees using the $3.00 per day commuting 
valuation rule. This form will do the computations for you and is in the exact format required by 
this office for non-control employees. For control employees who choose to use the vehicle 
cents-per-mile method, please use the Cents-per-Mile computation worksheet FRMS-16CPM. 
The Excel version of both worksheets can be found on our website at www.comptroller. 
alabama.gov. Move your cursor over "Reports and Forms" then select "Online Forms" from the 
drop down menu. The forms may also be printed and filled out manually. The FRMS-16 
workbook is set up with 9 pagesltabs to accommodate the listing of up to 462 employees. Only 
the page(s) with data need to be sent to GHRS. Be sure to include a contact name and phone 
number for your department on the first page, as well as the department head signature. The 
grand total for all pages with data will automatically compute. Contact this office if you wish to 
substitute our forms or if you have employees that are not paid by your department. 

It is imperative that the information reported is 100% accurate. Ensure that all vehicles used for 
commuting are reported except those specifically exempt by IRS. Vehicles, either marked or 
unmarked, that are used for law enforcement functions are exempt from reporting. If your 
department owns no State vehicles or no commuting occurs, return the form marked "No 
Vehicles". 

The personal use of employer-provided aircraft is also taxable for federal, state and FICA 
purposes and must be reported for W-2 purposes. Specific valuation rules in assessing the 
personal use of a flight on an employer-provided aircraft must be used in determining this 
taxable value. If your department has an employee who has used an employer-provided aircraft 
for personal reasons, contact this office for the valuation rules and additional instructions. 

In addition to the data required for the period ending October 3 1,201 3, those employees who 
drive state owned vehicles and terminate between November 1,2013 and October 3 1,2014 must 
submit interim data from November 1,2013 through the termination date immediately upon 
notice of termination and prior to the issuance of their last payroll warrant. 

For control purposes, please designate one employee in your department as the contact person to 
aid us in problem resolution and include their telephone number on the form in the space 
provided: This employee should also be responsible for submitting your departmenial 
information to this office. Unless special arrangements have been made with this office, all lists 
for your department must be submitted simultaneously. 

It is imperative that all departments return this form by November 15.2013. Failure to 
return this form may result in a delay of processine payroll data and the issuance of Form 
W-2's for your department. 

If you have questions or need further instructions, please contact the GHRS Hotline at 334-242- 
2188. 


