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MEMORANDUM

TO: All Chief Fiscal Officers
All Payroll and Personnel Officers

FROM: Thomas L. White, Ir, W
State Comptroller

SUBJECT: Taxation and Reporting of Personal Use of State Owned/L.eased Vehi.cles

In accordance with the IRS regulations, the total value of the personal use of state owned/leased vehicles is
taxable for federal, state, and FICA purposes and must be reported on the employee’s Form W-2, Since the
State of Alabama has a written policy prohibiting any personal use of an employer-provided vehicle other
than for commuting purposes (Section 36-25-5, 1975 Code of Alabgma), the State elects the commuting
valuation rule of $3.00 per day for employees who earn less than $150,200 annually and are not elected
officials. Employees who are paid $150,200 or more annually or are elected officials are considered “control
employees”. The only options available to control employees are (1) the annual lease value rule and (2) the
vehicle cents-per mile valuation rule. In accordance with IRS bulletin 2016-12, the cents-per-mile valuation
method is applicable for employer provided vehicles first made available for use in the calendar year 2016
with a maximum value of $15,900 for passenger automobiles and $17,700 for trucks or vans (Refer to IRS
publication 15b for 2015 values).

FICA and Medicare tax must be computed on the value of this personal use, matched, and paid by the
department. This will require the Comptroller to calculate and collect the tequired FICA and Medicare tax
due on the affected employee’s payroll check before issuing a Form W-2 to the employees. It is mandatory
that employees be notified within 30 days after being provided a vehicle of the effect this benefit may have
on withholdings. The State’s share of FICA and Medicare tax will be charged to the payroll fund(s)
designated in the GHRS for the employee. The charge will be reflected on the agency’s fringe benefit
payroll journal voucher. Departments will receive detail listings supporting this charge in December 2016,

The data required to accurately report and compute the taxes due on this fringe benefit must be provided
by all State departments no later than November 14, 2016. Unlike the taxable status of meal allowances
and per diem for non-overnight trips which cover the calendar year January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2016,
the $3 per day charge for commuting use of State owned/leased vehicles is reported for the period
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November 1, 2015 - October 31, 2016. The State of Alabama selected the IRS option to cut off calculation
for taxable fringe benefits on October 31 of any tax year. The data required for that period for each employee
is the total number of days or total number of miles the vehicle was used for commuting purposes.

For control employees who are either required to or opt to use the lease value rule, information can be found
on the IRS website at hitp://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15b.pdf. For control employees who choose to use
the vehicle cents-per-mile method, please use the Cents-Per-Mile computation worksheet FRMS-16CPM.
Please use the Excel workbook FRMS-16 for employees using the $3.00 per day commuting valuation rule.
The FRMS-16 form will do the computations for you and is in the exact format required by this office for
non-control employees. The Excel version of both worksheets can be found on our website at
www.comptroller.alabama.gov under “Reports and Forms”, The forms may also be printed and filled out
manually, The FRMS-16 workbook is set up with 6 pages/tabs to accommodate the listing of up to 294
employees. Only the page(s) with data should be sent to GHRS. Be sure to include a contact name and
phone number for your department on the first page as well as the department head signature. Xf you have
employees that are not paid by your agency but are paid by another agency, you will need to
coordinate with the paying agency to make sure the commuting use is reported by the paying agency.

It is imperative that the information reported is 100% accurate. Ensure that all vehicles used for commuting
are reported except those specifically exempted by IRS. Vehicles, either marked or unmarked, that are used
for law enforcement functions are exempt from reporting. If your department owns no State vehicles or
noe commuting occurs, return the form marked "NO VEHICLES".

The personal use of employer-provided aircraft is also taxable for federal, state, and FICA purposes and
must be reported for W-2 purposes. Specific valuation rules in assessing the personal use of a flight on an
employer-provided aircraft must be used in determining this taxable value. If your department has an
employee who has used an employer-provided aircraft for personal reasons, contact lhlS office for the
valuation rules and additional instructions.

In addition to the data required for the period ending October 31, 2016, those employees who drive state
owned vehicles and terminate between November 1, 2015 and October 31, 2016, must submit interim data
from November I, 2015, through the termination date immediately upon notice of termination and prior to
the issuance of their last payroll warrant.

It is imperative that all departments return this form by November 14, 2016. Failure to
return this form may result in a delay of processing payroll data and the issuance of Form
W-2's for your department.

If you have questions or need further instructions, please contact the GHRS hotline at (334)242-2188.

TLW/SHK



