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MEMORANDUM
TO: Fiscal Officers
FROM: Robert L. Childree &)\\/
State Comptroller

SUBJECT:  Update to Fiscal Policy & Procedures Manual

Attached hereto is an update to the State of Alabama’s Fiscal Policy & Procedures
Manual relating to in-state travel per diem rates. This update to the manual is provided to
keep current the rules and regulations put forth by the Department of Finance,

Please distribute this to those individuals in your agency who use the manual. If you

have questions or comuments, please contact Tucker Wilson at (334) 242-7057 or
Kathleen Baxter at (334) 242-4857.
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CHANGES/UPDATES TO THE FISCAL POLICY AND PROCEDURES MANUAL

CHAPTER 6
SECTION 6-5 PAYMENT TYPES
SUBSECTION F PAYMENT FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF TRAVEL EXPENSES

Change
1.a. Per Diem Allowance (second and third paragraph page 6-17)

The term overnight, as used in Code of Alabama 1975, §36-7-20, as amended, means exactly what the word
implies. The common law meaning of night usually means the period between sunset and sunrise. Another
rule often applied is that night is defined as beginning thirty minutes after sunset and ending thirty minutes
before sunrise. To be entitled to overnight per diem, the trip must require a “rest period.” Individuals who
remain in work state are not entitled to overnight per diem. Employees within reasonable travel distance
from their base are expected to return to base. Individual circumstance will determine what is reasonable
but generally, a trip of 100 miles or less one-way does not require an overnight stay. Once a year an
exception to the 100-mile rule may be approved by Department Directors for empioyees attending
professional meetings. The travel aliowance is set at $50.00 per day for one overnight stay, $66.66 per

day for two consecutive overnight stays, and $75.00 per day for three or more consecutive overnight

stays. The new rates will be effective April 1, 2003.

“The amount allowable to a person traveling inside the State of Alabama, in the service of the state of any of
its departments, institutions, boards, bureaus, commissions, councils, committees, or other like agencies, for
expenses other than transportation may be fixed by the Governor at not less than $50.00 and not more than
$75.00 per day. Such maximum or limit when fixed from time to time shall be uniform in operations as to all

persons traveling with the state on official business. The current allowance for overnight per diem is $50.00

per day for one overnight sta 6.66 per day for two consecutive overnight stays. and $75.00 per

day for three or more consecutive overnight stays.



