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M E M O R A N D U M  

TO : CHIEF FISCAL OFFICERS 

FROM: Thomas L. White. 
State Comptroller 

SUBJECT: Taxation and Reporting of Personal Use of Stale O ~ e d I L e a s e d  Vehicles 

In accordance with the IRS regulations, tlie total value of the personal use of state o\cned/leased 
veliicles must be accum~~lated and reported for W-2 purposes. Since tlic State of Alabama lias a written 
policy proliibiting any personal use of an employer-provided veliicle other than for commuting purposes 
(Section 41-17-9. I975 ('otlr ofAlabama), the State elects the commuting valuation rule of $3.00 per daq 
for employees who earn less than $1 45,700 annually and are not elected officials. Employees who are 
paid $145,700 or more annually or are elected officials are considered "control eniployees". l'he only 
options available to control employees are ( I )  the annual lease value rule and (3) the vehicle cents-per 
mile valuation rule (.50 for 2010). If your department lias control employees, contact this office for 
f~~rther information and appropriate forms. 

No federal inco~ne tax withholding is required, but FlCA and Medicare tax must bc computed on 
tlie value of this personal use, matched, and paid by tlie department. l'his will require that tlie Complrollcr 
calculate the FICA and Medicare tax due and shift the required amount from tlie employee's Federal 
Witliholding to FICA and Medicare tax before issuing a Form W-3 lo the affected emploqecs. 11 is 
mandatory that employees be notified within 30 days after being provided a vehicle of the effect this 
benefit may have on withholdings and be allowed to increase regular withholdings to offset any 
anticipated shortage. Additionally, the Comptroller must charge each CAS fund, agency, appropriation 
unit and activity and org if noted, with the State's matching portion. Departments will receive detail 
listings supporting this charge in CAS in January, 201 1 .  Corresponding entries must be manuall? entered 
in AFNS or non-AFNS agency accounting systems. 

The data required to accurately report and compute the takes due on this fringe benefit must be 
provided by all State departments no later than December 1, 2010. Unlike the taxable status of  ileal 
allowances and per diem for non-overnight trips which cover the calendar year January 1 ,  2010 - 

December 3 1, 20 10, the $3/day charge for commuting use of State owliedileased vehicles is reported for 
the period 1Vovember I, 2009 - October 3 1 ,  20 10. The State of Alabama selected the IRS option to cut off 
calculation for taxable fringe benefits on October 3 1 of any tax year. The data required for that period for 
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each employee is the total number of days or total number of miles the vehicle was used for commuting 
purposes. 

Please use tlie new Excel workbook FRMS-16 for employees usilig tlie $3.00 per day commuting 
valuation rule. This form will do tlie colnputations for you and is in the exact format required by this 
office for non-control employees. 'The new Excel version can be found on our website at 
www.cornptroller.alabama.gov. Move your cursor over "Reports and Forms" then select "Online Forms" 
from the drop down menu. It [nay also be printed and filled out manually. Ensure that the CAS codes for 
fund, agency, org, activity, and appropriation unit are used when completing the form. The 
workbook is set up with 9 pagesltabs to accommodate the listing of up to 462 employees. Only the 
page(s) with data need to be sent to GHRS. NOTE: It is no longer necessary to separate employees h. 
fund and appropriation unit but each agency must be separated. Be sure to include a contact name and 
phone number for your department on the first page as well as the department head signature. The grand 
total for all pages with data will autolnatically compute. Contact this department if you wish to substitute 
our form, if you liave control e~nployees and need alternate forms or if you have employees that are not 
paid by your agency. 

It is imperative that the information reported is 100% accurate. Ensure that all vehicles used for 
commuting are reported except those specifically exempted by IRS. Vehicles, either marked or unmarked. 
that are used for law enforcement functions are exempt froin reporting. If your department owns no 
State vehicles or no commuting occurs, return the form marked "No Vehicles". If your department 
has anyone that drives a state vehicle but is not paid by the State of Alabama on a payroll warrant. contact 
this office for special instructions. 

The personal use of employer-provided aircraft is also taxable for federal, state. and FICA 
purposes and must be reported for W-2 purposes. Specific valuation rules in assessing the personal use of 
a flight on an employer-provided aircraft must be used in determining this taxable value. If your 
department has an elnployee who has used an employer-provided aircraft for personal reasons. contact 
this office for tlie valuation rules and additional instructions. 

I n  addition to the data required for the period ending October 31. 2010, those elnployees who 
drive state owned vehicles and terminate between November 1 ,  201 0 and October 3 1 ,  201 1 must submit 
interim data from November 1 ,  2010 through the termination date immediately upon notice of terniination 
and prior to tlie issuance of their last payroll warrant. 

For control purposes, please designate one e~nployee in your department as the contact person to 
aid us in problem resolution and please include their telephone number on tlie form in the space provided. 
This employee should also be responsible for submitting your departmental information to this office. 
Unless special arrangements have been made with this office, all lists for your department must be 
submitted simultaneously. 

It is imperative that all departments return this form by December 1, 2010. Failure to 
return this form may result in a delay of process in^ payroll data and the issuance of Form W-2's 
for vour department. 

Should you liave questions or need filrtlier instructions, please contact Lisa Chadwick at (334) 
242-2 177. 


