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7-6 PAY TYPES
A. LONGEVITY PAY

The following amounts reflect the longevity payments for F¥08FY11 and the potential changes
thereafter until the maximum specified by the amendment is reached:

FY 0811 LONGEVITY PAY INCREMENTS

5 + years of service $300 $500
10 + years of service $400 $600
15 + years of service $500 $700
20 + years of service $600 $800
25 + years of service $700 $900 (as granted in ACT 2006-420)

EXAMPLES OF REVISED LONGEVITY AMOUNTS:

For the third-next-Fiscal Year in which no COLA is received, the following schedule of longevity
payments will be applicable:

5 + years of service $600
10 + years of service $700
15 + years of service $800
20 + years of service $900
25 + years of service$1,000 *



*After $1,000 is reached for the 25 + year level, each service level amount will remain as is noted
in this chart (unless/until future legislation dictates a change).

Generally, the amount of longevity pay for permanent part-time employees is calculated using
the percentage of full-time hours worked and the length of service. For example, if a 50%
employee works 1,040 hours a year and the employee has 6 years of service, then the employee
is eligible to receive $156250.00 ($360500 X .5). One time Payment forms, for al part-time
employees, must be completed and forwarded to the Payroll Section of the Comptroller’s
Office by the deadline established in the annual longevity memo issued by the Comptroller’s
Office.
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B. LONGEVITY OVERTIME PAY

In accordance with Title 29 Code of Federal Regulations Section 778, any bonuses received by
employees who are not exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must be included in
calculating the hourly rate used to pay overtime at the time and a half rate. For example,
Employee A, whose salary is $24,960.00, has received a $300500 longevity bonus. Employee
A’s hourly rate is $12.00 ($24,960/2,080 hours'). He has been paid 200 hours of overtime at
the time and a half rate of $18.00 an hour ($12.00 x 1.5). The employee is eligible to receive an
additional $4272, caculated as follows:

1) $300500 longevity bonus/2,080 standard hours = $.14-24
2) $.44.24 x 1.5 (time and a half) = $.21:36
3) $.21.36 x 200 hours overtime = $4272.00

NOTES: A) The longevity overtime uses a rate of $.2424 and not $18.1424
because the employee was alr eady paid $18.00 an hour for overtime
wor ked throughout the year.

B) If the additional overtime compensation dueto thelongevity bonusis
less than $10.00, the amount can be considered "de minimis' and
should not be paid.
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F. BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT CLAIMS

In accordance with Code of Alabama 1975, 841-9-68, as amended, the Board of Adjustment
may award damages back pay to an employee based on a submitted claim pertaining to the
situations listed in 841-9-62. If darmages-are back pay is awarded to an employee, form FRMS-

1 The standard number of work hours per year that is used by the federal government, and industry in general, is
2,080 hours, and that is the number used by the State of Alabama.



17 -- ONE TIME PAYMENT (Exhibit 7-7-3) must be completed and forwarded to the Payroll
section of the Comptroller's office with a copy of the Board of Adjustment ruling.

AH Board of Adjustment elaims—are awards will be processed during the supplemental
employee's next regular payroll cycle enly. These payments are taxed at a flat rate of 25
percent for federal taxes and a flat rate of 3 percent for state taxes. If the employee's regular
pay is subject to FICA, Medicare, and/or reti rement th@e payments will also be subject to
FICA Medicare and/or retlrernent , A ! T
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D. REFUNDS FROM STATE EMPLOYEES' INSURANCE BOARD

In order for an employee to receive arefund for premiums paid to the State Employees
Insurance Board (SEIB) in error, the agency must complete SEIB form IB10 and forward to
SEIB. (A copy of the Refund Request form can be found on SEIB’ s website at

http://www.al seib.org/Heal thinsurance/sehip/forms.aspx.) SEIB will audit the request and forward it to the
Comptroller’ s office. The Comptroller’s Office will prepare ajournal voucher to transfer the
money from SEIB to the agency. A copy of the journa voucher form will be sent to the
agency. The refund will be transferred to the agency's default accounting distribution in GHRS.
The employee's share of non- erxr ble beneflts will be transferred to bal ance sheet account
number "7941”, fits w
balaneesheet—aeeeunt—numleeplgﬂ and the empl oyees share of the flexible beneflt refund
will be transferred to balance sheet account number "9051". The amount of the agency's FICA
and Medicare employer cost for the flexible benefit refunds will be charged to the default
accounting distribution, object/sub-object code of "0200 01".

A payment voucher must be processed to pay the affected employee. This step should clear out
any amount in balance sheet accounts "7941" and/or "9051".

Journal voucher transactions must then be entered using the agency’ s established accounting
procedures to reall ocate the-meney-in-balance-sheet-account—7947—and the employer’ s share
that was charged to object/sub-object 0200-01 to the employee’ s appropriate accounting
distribution. These balance sheet accounts are clearing accounts; therefore, unless the amounts
are reallocated through ajournal voucher transaction, the funds cannot be spent.

See exhibit 7-9-4A for the refund process and exhibit 7-9-5 for an explanation of each of the
journal voucher lines. Refer to the AFNS Payroll Insurance Refunds for specific instructions
regarding AFNS entries.

In order for an agency to receive arefund for premiums paid to the State Employees’ Insurance
Board (SEIB) in error, the agency must complete SEIB form I1B10 and forward to SEIB. (A
copy of the Refund Reguest form can be found on SEIB’ s website at

http://www.al seib.org/Heal thinsurance/sehip/forms.aspx ) SEIB will net the refund amount
against the next billing. See exhibit 7-9-4B to follow the flow for current year, 13th accounting
period and prior year refunds.
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B.

EMPLOYEE DEDUCTIONS

If an employee wishes to have voluntary deductions withheld from his saary, it is
recommended that the employee provide written authorization to the agency payroll clerk. New
deductions are added for an employee on the Miscellaneous screen (MISC) in GHRS. All
authorized deductions can be found on the Deduction Plan table (DPLN) in GHRS. A list of
approved insurance companies for voluntary insurance deductions is provided on our website
at www.comptroller.alabama.gov .

In accordance with Code of Alabama 1975, 836-1-4.4, requirements for dues and contributions
to employee organizations are set forth as follows:

1. All memberships+h membership dues for employee organizations shall be annual
memberships.

2. The annual membership period is established as August 1 of the year through July 31
of the subsequent year.

3. Once an employee becomes a member of an employee organi zation, {Laber-Unien;
Law-enforcement-associations-ete—)-the-employee he/she cannot terminate
that membership (i.e., stop payroll deductions) except during the last 10 daysin
July. This revocation must be in writing to the appropriate payroll clerk in the
employee's department.

4. Any employee who elects to make a voluntary contribution to an employee

organization {i-e+te-apelitical-action-committee) can terminate that voluntary
contribution by providing 30-days-agvance written-netice written notice 30 days

in advance to the appropriate payroll clerk in the employee's department.

5. Any employee may initiate a new authorization for deduction of either dues or
voluntary contributions on a monthly basis during the year, but once the
deduction commences, {3)-anrd{4) Sections 3 and 4 apply regarding termination.

6. If an employee terminates service with the State for any reason, the deduction will
terminate with the last salary payment.

7. If after an approved leave of absence or other temporary leave, an employee returns
to employment with the State, deductions for dues and/or voluntary
contributions will commence unless specifically revoked by the employee prior
to reemployment.

Agency personnel should not enter any changes using the codes of HLTHE, HLTHC, DPCRE,
HLCRE, PRETX or PSTTX. These changes are initiated by either SEIB or the state's third
party administrator ERISA.


http://www.comptroller.state.al.us/Content/InsPayrollDeduct.aspx

E. COURT ORDERED LIENS

The term "garnishment™” broadly refers to any court/legal ordered deduction. At this time, the
Comptroller handles garnishments for debt, taxes, child support, and restitution. All child
support, garnishment, bankruptcy, and levy deductions are entered into GHRS by the
Garnishment Administration section of the Payroll Division in the Comptroller's office.
Deductions for garnishments, child support, bankruptcies, and tax levies are withheld from
each paycheck.

In order to be honored, garnishment and child support orders must be served directly on the
State Comptroller, GHRS, Suite 282, PO Box 302602, Montgomery, AL 36104. Under no
circumstances should an agency accept service of the garnishee's or employer's copy of a
formal court order. However, an agency may alow an employee to be served with the
employee's copy of a court order while on duty.

Once the Comptroller has been properly served, the order is reviewed for compliance with the
law and the employee's payroll records are reviewed. If withholding can begin, a letter is
issued to the agency's payroll clerk with a eeurtesy copy to the employee. This letter describes
the beginning date and the amount of the deduction.

The amount of a child support or garnishment deduction is calculated based on federal and/or
state statutes. Therefore, as requested in the letter, the Comptroller must be notified
immediately of any changesin wages or employment. If the employee has any questions about
the deduction, the employee should contact the plaintiff or issuing agency to resolve the
discrepancy.
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B. SICK LEAVE

In accordance with the State Personnel Department rules and regulations, full-time permanent
employees may earn four hours and twenty minutes of sick leave for each semi-monthly period
of service. Normally unused sick leave may accumulate to a maximum of 150 days or 1200
hours. However, if an employee suffers an extended illness or disability lasting more than 150
days, the State Personnel Board may, on the recommendation of the employee's appointing
authority, approve restoration and use of any sick leave earned and recorded in excess of this
maximum. In accordance with Code of Alabama 1975, 836-26-36, an employee is entitled to
be paid for 50% of their accumulated sick leave up to a maximum payment for 600 hours at the
time of his retirement or convert 100% for service credit time for retirement purposes. For
additional information concerning regulations governing leave, consult the Personnel
Procedures Manual.
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E. ACCOUNTING DISTRIBUTION FOR LEAVE EVENTS

When an employee uses leave, the time paid will be charged to the employee's original
accounting distribution unless an accounting override is entered on the employee's document.
However, each leave event creates a pay event that has a unique sub-object assigned to it. The
following table reflects this information:

DESCRIPTION LEAVE EVENT PAY EVENT

OBJ/SUB-OBJ

Used Annual Leave UANNL PANNL 0100/22
Used Excess Annual Leave (Troopers) SPSAA TPSAA 0100/22
Used Annual (FMLA) UANNF PANNL 0100/22
Used Comp Time UCOMP PCOMP 0100/18
Used Comp (FMLA) UCOMF PCOMP 0100/18
Liguidation of Comp SCOMA TCOMA 0100/32
Used Jury Duty UCORT PCORT 0100/25
Used Holiday Bank UHLDY PHLDY 0100/24
Used Holiday (FMLA) UHLDF PHLDY 0100/24
Used State Military UMILS PMILS 0100/19
Used Military Leave UMLTY PMLTY 0100/19
Used Personal Leave Day UPLDY PPLDY 0100/04
Used Personal Leave Day — FMLA UPLDF PPLDY 0100/04
Used Sick Leave USICK PSICK 0100/12
Used Sick (FMLA) USCKF PSICK 0100/12
Used Personal Leave Day —DY'S UY SPL PY SPL 0100/04
Used Personal Leave Day - DYS (FMLA)  UYSPF PY SPL 0100/04
Used Sick Leave—DYS UYSSK PY SSK 0100/12
Used Sick Leave - DYS (FMLA) UY SSF PY SSK 0100/12

Used Bereavement Leave UBVSK PBV SK 0100/1222
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C.

REPORTABLE WAGES, TIPS, AND OTHER COMPENSATION
1. TOTAL WAGES

Wages subject to federal withholding taxes paid to an employee are reflected in Box 1
on Form W-2.

2. VALUE OF PERSONAL USE OF STATE OWNED/LEASED VEHICLES

Employees who drive a state owned or leased vehicle are assessed a charge of $3 a day
for each day the vehicle was used for commuting purposes. This information is reported
to the Comptroller's Office on the Commuting Use of State Owned/Leased Vehicles
form (Exhibit 7-15-2). The assessment period covers the period of November 1st
through October 31st of the reportable year. Control employees (i.e., elected officials or
employees whose compensation equals or exceeds $145,700.00 $143;500:00 annually
in 2010-2009) must use one of the following options. The first option is the annual lease
value rule and the second option is the vehicle cents-per- m|Ie valuation rule (50-58:5
cents per mile for Nev

2009-te-October-31,-2009 2010) For more mformatlon on control empl oyees report| ng
requirements, contact the Payroll Section of the Comptroller's Office. The calculated
amount of this fringe benefit is reportable for W-2 purposes as federal taxable wages,
state taxable wages, and FICA/Medicare covered wages. The amount is reflected in box
14 on the W-2 under the heading of "CAR USAGE." This amount is shown on the
Form W-2 for information purposes only. The amount has been used in the calculation
of Box 1, 3, 5 and 16.
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5. MILEAGE EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT

The State of Alabama's current mileage rate is 50 55 cents effective January 1, 2010
2009. Since the amount is equal to the federal standard mileage rate, the amount of
compensation for mileage reimbursement is not reportable for W-2 purposes.
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D.

OTHER REPORTABLE ITEMS
1. ADVANCED EARNED INCOME CREDIT

State employees who earn less than $35,535 $35,463 ($40,545 $38,583 married filing
jointly) annualy in 20102009 and who have one or more qualifying children are
eligible for Advanced Earned Income. These payments are reflected on the employee's




W-2 as a separate item in Box 9. The advance payments do not constitute the payment
of compensation and should not be treated as a reduction of withholding or an increase
in compensation. See section 7-3 # Step 8.

2. DEFERRED COMPENSATION

Internal Revenue Code Section 457 is the statutory authority for the State of Alabama's
deferred compensation plans. There are two eligible deferred compensation plans for
state employees. "RSA1" is a deferred compensation plan administered by the
Retirement Systems of Alabama, in accordance with Code of Alabama 1975, 8§ 36-
274.1 and Great West PEBSCO-(Nationwide). Contributions made by state employees
to these plans are excluded from federal and state taxable wages and are reflected in
total in Box 12 Code G. This amount is shown on the Form W-2 for informational
purposes only. The amount has been used in the calculation of Box 1 and 16. In
accordance with § 40-18-14, Code of Alabama 1975, effective January 1, 1997, al
contributions made to the deferred compensation plans will "receive the same tax
deferred treatment for state income tax purposes’.
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E. DUPLICATE W-2'S

The Comptroller's office furnishes each agency with an Employee Earnings Report that shows
all wage and tax information that was reported to the Internal Revenue Service for the agency's
employees. Thislisting must be used for wage verification purposes.

For tax years prior to the most current taxable year, informational statements will be furnished
based on written justification from the employee that the Form W-2 has either been lost or
destroyed. This justification should be routed through the agency to ensure the employee's W-2
has not been returned to the agency for some reason. For the current taxable year, a duplicate
Form W-2 will be furnished to the employee based on written justification until April 30 of the
current year. Beginning May 1, this information will be furnished on an informational
statement. Form FRM S-63 -- REQUEST FOR DUPLICATE/INFORMATIONAL W-2
(Exhibit 7-15-4) may be used to request this information. Allow 2 weeks for Duplicate W-2's
to be delivered.

If a duplicate Form W-2 is requested on behalf of an employee who is deceased, the employing
agency at the time of death must furnish the Comptroller's office a request certifying that there
is no known pending litigation involving the deceased employee. It is the agency's
responsibility to ensure the Form W-2 isreleased to alegally authorized individual.
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